Summery tart

This week spring well and truly descended onto Sydney, and it got HOT. It has been lovely and bright in the mornings and when I leave the office each evening. We’ve started sleeping with the windows open every night.

So, I started what I feel may become a springtime ritual in Australia: I worried about how many bugs we’re going to have come summer (which was sparked by finding a baby huntsman spider in my kitchen, eek); and I fretted about by my poor très-burnable Irish skin.

But I also hit the interwebs in search of light, bright, summery, yummery food to cook. I’ve resolved to eat no more stodge until May. During my search I found this beautiful tart on one of my favourite websites: Delicious. And it was oh so colourful, simple and delicious. I served it with a crisp green salad it really hit the spot. Plus it gave The Fella ample opportunities to make super hilarious innuendos about all kinds of tarts, like, who doesn’t love a good tart on a hot day? But maybe the less said about that the better….

Tomato, chive and Brie tart

Ingredients

375 g (13 ¼ oz) ready-rolled shortcrust pastry (yes I am that lazy),
plain flour for dusting
300 g (10 ½ oz) cherry tomatoes
1 tbsp olive oil
100 ml double cream
100 ml whole milk
2 medium free range eggs and 1 yolk
4 tbsp snipped fresh chives
200 g (7 oz) Brie, diced
salt and pepper to season
any nice fresh green salad to serve

Preheat the oven to 200 °C and grease and flour a 23 cm fluted tart tin. Open out the pastry and gently roll out on a lightly floured surface until it will easily line the tart tin. Prick the base of the pastry case all over with a fork, then line with baking paper and fill with baking beans or rice. I actually keep a jar of beans in the press just for doing this, once you bake the beans once you can never cook them so you might as well keep them. Blind-bake for 15 minutes until sandy-coloured and just cooked. Remove the paper and beans and set aside.

Meanwhile, put the tomatoes in a small roasting tray, drizzle with the olive oil and some seasoning, and bake for about 15 minutes or until the tomatoes are just beginning to burst.

Beat together the cream, milk, eggs and seasoning until combined, then add in the chives. Evenly spread the tomatoes in the pastry case, then pour over the egg mixture and scatter over the Brie. Cook for 25-30 minutes until set and golden.

Although I’ve named this Summer tart, I feel it could be quite versatile. Switch the salad for a few grilled potato slices and green vegetables and this could just as easily be autumn tart or even winter tart.

Yumbolicious.

 

You might also like:

Fig, goat’s cheese and pine nut salad

Oregano, Pecorino and macadamia nut pesto

Haloumi salad

 

2 thoughts on “Summery tart

Leave a Reply

