Pretty potato salad

Look at how pretty spuds can be! So pretty in fact, I will have to revert to their proper title and start to call them potatoes. How fancy.

I had never intended to post this; it was simply going to be a random Thursday dinner. I had green beans that I needed to use. I had some spuds, I spotted some juicy baby roma tomatoes in the corner shop, and that was going to be it. But once it was all on a plate, it all looked so gosh darned pretty, that I just had to take a snap and share it with you all.

Just goes to show, all you need for a yummy dinner is super fresh ingredients and zilch all else.

Pretty potato salad

Ingredients

400 g (14 oz) new potatoes
300 g (10½ oz) green beans, topped and tailed
300 g (10½ oz) baby roma tomatoes, halved
2 spring onions, roughly chopped
Handful of baby spinach
Handful of rocket leaves
Handful of flaked almonds

For the dressing:
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp white wine vinegar
2 tps Dijon mustard

Makes enough for 4 people.

Clean and cook the new potatoes as you normally would. I have a vegetable steamer that I used for both the green beans and the potatoes. I steamed the potatoes for about 15 minutes, until cooked but still quite firm. The green beans took a lot less time, about 3 minutes, but I like my veggies with quite a bit of bite, so cooking times really depend on your preference.

Once cooked, allow the potatoes and beans to cool slightly. Cut the potatoes into nice bite sized cubes.

To make the mustard dressing, simply mix the oil, vinegar and mustard together in a jar.

Arrange the potatoes and green beans on a plate with the tomatoes, spring onion, spinach and rocket leaves. Sprinkle the salad with the almonds and as much dressing as you fancy.

Simple, easy, oh so beautiful, and of course…

Yumbolicious.

 

You might also like:

Potato and egg salad with fennel and lemon

Broad bean fattoush

Bœuf bourguignon and posh potatoes

Leave a Reply

