Rosemary and pine nut semolina cookies

Are you a Barry’s or a Lyons drinker yourself?

This is a question that can polarise Irish people. Friendships can be made or broken on the answer; in fact, it’s a question you should ask any potential partner straight up. It’s pretty much a deal breaker.

I am of course, talking about tea. Irish people can take tea very seriously indeed.

I am a Barry’s woman myself. I grew up in a Barry’s drinking household and I’ll stay a Barry’s woman until the day I die. Lucky for me, The Fella doesn’t drink tea at all, so we didn’t have to have the Barry’s versus Lyons debate. Instead we’ll have to discuss more trivial things, like what country to bring our kids up in and stuff.

Anyway, I love tea, but I love tea dunkers even more. I got the idea for these particular dunkers from the beautiful 101 Cookbooks website, but I have to admit, I didn’t follow Heidi ’s recipe. Instead, I adapted the semolina shortcake cookies I had made for Australia Day (because they were delish!), by adding some rosemary (from my garden) and toasted pine nuts. The result: très dunkable yumness for a classy afternoon tea. Someone stick the kettle on quick….

Rosemary and pine nut semolina cookies

Ingredients

100 g (3 ½ oz) plain flour
50 g (1 ¾ oz) coarse semolina flour
100 g (4 oz) butter, softened
50 g (1 ¾ oz) caster sugar
1 tsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped.
30 g (1 oz) toasted pine nuts, roughly chopped
zest of 1 lemon

First, preheat the oven to 180 °C. Next, put pine nuts into a dry pan and heat slowly until the nuts begin to brown. You’ll need to keep a close eye on them as they can burn easily. I chop them, quite roughly, after they’ve been toasted, I find that they burn easier if they’re all different sizes, hence chopping them afterwards is safer.

Next, sift the flour into a mixing bowl and add the coarse semolina, mixing together well. Rub in the softened butter; then add in the sugar, rosemary, toasted pine nuts and lemon zest, bringing the mixture together into a dough. Roll out the dough to about ½ cm thick and cut out whatever shapes you fancy. Once you’ve got more holes than gaps, just re-roll the dough again. Bake your cookies in a lined baking tray for about 6-10 minutes or until just golden (if they are too pale they will crumble into nothing once they come out of the oven).

Allow to cool before sticking on the kettle and wetting the teapot.

Yumbolicious.

Leave a Reply

