Birthday banana and buttermilk pancakes with raspberries and honey

Question: should pancakes be fat or thin?

In my world, pancakes are large, round and oh-so-very thin. The best ones are eaten with a just sprinkling of caster sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice; or maybe a bucketful of Nutella; depending on your mood. My basic rule is that you shouldn’t need a knife and fork to eat them, just roll and go.

The Fella however has different views. Being Australian (and despite being the product of two Irish emigrants), he thinks pancakes should be small and thick. This means we have had a few, rather heated, pancake-related debates in our house.

I guess there are just Old World pancakes (thin) and New World pancakes (fat); which is the best compromise The Fella and I can come to. It was his birthday this weekend, so just to be nice (yes, I can be nice), I surprised him with a big batch of banana and buttermilk pancakes for breakfast. And I have to admit, they may have been fat and I did need a knife and fork to eat them, but they weren’t half bad at all.

Maybe living in the New World is starting to get to me…

Birthday banana and buttermilk pancakes with raspberries and honey

For this yummie breakfast I amended a recipe I found on-line from the Ozzie Chef Bill Granger. I used less buttermilk, and instead mashed a banana into the batter. The pancakes were a little heavier and with a lovely hint of banana.

Ingredients

250 g plain flour
3 tsp baking powder
a pinch of salt
2 tbsp sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
700 ml buttermilk
1 ripe banana, mashed
75 g butter, melted
Butter or vegetable oil, for greasing the pan

For the sauce:
2 cups of frozen (or fresh) raspberries
1 tbsp sugar
good drizzle of honey

First off, sift together the dry ingredients (the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar) into a bowl or a food mixer. Then slowly add in the eggs, buttermilk, mashed banana and melted butter and whisk until you have a nice thick batter with no lumps.

Next you need to heat a large, greased, non-stick frying pan. Now this was where I started to struggle; to make my style of pancakes, I use vegetable oil to grease the pan, and I use as little as I can get away with. I also make sure the pan is literally smoking hot before I start. For these, thicker style pancakes, you need a cooler pan and as such can use butter instead of vegetable oil (butter will burn at higher temperatures). If your pan is too hot, your pancake will burn before it’s cooked in the middle. For each pancake, ladle 80 ml (1/3 cup) of batter into the pan and cook for about 2 minutes, until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip the pancake (with or without fancy tricks) and cook for another minute. Pop the cooked pancakes under a very low grill and keep warm while cooking the rest of the batch.

For the sauce, mix together the frozen raspberries (it’s winter here in the southern hemisphere) with the sugar and leave to sit for about 20 minutes until they are beautiful and syrupy. Spoon this over the hot pancakes with a good drizzle of honey.

These were yummie and filling too! When I was a kid, my brother and I always had a competition on pancake Tuesday to see who could eat the most. Well, I managed two and a half of these fat ones before they started to defeat me. The Fella finished the whole batch though; well, it was his birthday after all!

Yumbolicious.

7 thoughts on “Birthday banana and buttermilk pancakes with raspberries and honey

  1. Those look absolutely delicious! I must say I’m on your husband’s side about this one… Pancakes are meant to be thick and fluffy… Crepes are meant to be thin and rollable and stuffed with fruit and nutella and cream and everything delicious. And I looooooooooove a good crepe!

  2. I’m 100% with you on this one – thin all the way… however I like to drown mine in maple syrup topped with blueberries and bacon so a knife and fork are definitely required. This looks delicious though and I’d say he was well-chuffed with his bday treat 🙂

  3. I know what I’ll be having for brekkie this weekend 😉
    Mine’s likely to be coming out of a cardboard box though. Fella is a lucky fella 🙂

    • Ha! He probably wouldn’t agree; he certainly feels that I don’t make him enough pancakes! You should give these a try, they’re not too hard and totally, totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

