A tipple for advertising gurus the world over

There’s a great website I follow called Gojee; I subscribe to their newsletter which has a weekly round-up of all that’s hot and tasty on the interwebs. One feature I especially look forward to is called WWDDD? As in: what would Don Draper drink? A question on the forefront of minds across the globe no doubt.

Image

The Fella and I are huge Mad Men fans, massive. Ever since the show started in 2007 we’ve been totally hooked. You see, The Fella is an advertising creative, and a very clever one at that; so he enjoys it for much more than just the great storylines and the super-awesome-fabulous styling. Hence when the fifth season finished up last week, we found ourselves at a bit of a loss on our usual Mad Men night. Then I’d a brain wave and made us some deliciously-retro whisky sours. They were just the ticket to get the creative juices flowing and I feel sure Don would have approved.

While I got the inspiration for this cocktail from Gojee, I actually used a recipe given to me by a friend of The Fella. She insisted that a good whisky sour absolutely HAS to have egg white in it. Initially I wasn’t convinced. But she argued and persisted and basically wore me down and I’m so glad she did. Not only does putting egg white in your cocktail make you feel like Rocky or some other super-fit-healthy dude (thus totally negating the alcohol content); it also give the cocktail a beautiful frothy head and a je ne sais quoi that is hard to describe, especially after a few.

These are delicious, and the more of them you drink the more your boyfriend will start to look like Mr Draper, which is never a bad thing, is it?!

Whisky Sours

Ingredients

Makes two cocktails
2 shots of whisky
2 shots of freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 shots of brown sugar syrup (boil together 1 part water to 2 parts brown sugar for 1 minute, then allow to cool, this syrup will keep in a jar in the fridge for up to a week)
2 tsp of egg white

Put all the ingredients together in a cocktail shaker and shake for 1 minute. Pour over ice and enjoy.

I have to give a huge thank you to my very clever Fella for taking these photos for me. The reflections of the lights on the bottle and glass were just too much for me to cope with; but he put all his awesome Art Direction and photography skills to work and took these great shots for me, if you’re interested you can check out more of his work here.

Yumbolicious

6 thoughts on “A tipple for advertising gurus the world over

  1. We also love Mad Men over here! I’m terrified of the egg white in this, but as we’re behind and still have yet to even start Season 5, I’ll give it a shot!

    • I totally wasn’t on board with the egg white either but I figured I shouldn’t knock it til I tried it and it was totally worth it! Plus you get to make all kind if yumness with the left-over yokes, like custard or quiche, so it’s pretty much a win-win situation!

    • Yes!! It’s enough to make you hurry off to the off-licence pronto, isn’t it?! Thanks, like I said, the photos were The Fella’s, I couldn’t manage all those reflective surfaces by myself, but he’s much more clever than me, sometimes…

  2. I don’t know mad men but I would certainly join you in a tipple! We like our malt, particularly over the winter months and if you are in Sydney I’m here often with work so it may happen one day!

Leave a Reply

