Barbequed shrimp Aussie style

I wonder if there is a nationality on earth that doesn’t have a stereotype associated with it?

As an Irish ex-pat, I sometimes get wished a lovely morning; and while I always appreciate the sentiment, I’m not usually a fan of the delivery. Let me be clear here, Irish people don’t, nor have they ever used the phrase ‘top of the morning to you’.

When Australians say this to me, my response is always the same. I say ‘Ahh yeah, throw a shrimp on the barbie mate’.

That usually gets a reaction.

And I just love a reaction.

Prawns on the barbie, BBQ, Aussie BBQ
If the only thing you know about the Land Down Under comes from Crocodile Dundee or Men at Work songs, you need to throw out those misconceptions. I’ve never seen a deadly spider or snake;  I’m still not entirely sure what a billabong actually is; I don’t carry around large knives; The Fella hardly ever drinks Fosters or rides kangaroos to work. It’s all a bit disappointing really. Although I still hold out hope of one day finding a koala bear living in my back garden.

Barbequed crustaceans are sadly lacking from my life, so in honour of Australia Day I decided to turn that around. God damn it, I threw some shrimps on the barbie and they were bloody bonzer mate!

Barbequed shrimp Aussie style

Barbequed prawns

I actually used banana prawns instead of shrimp, but that doesn’t make for nearly as good a story. I paired them with my favourite seafood flavours: lemon and garlic, although I reckon these bad boys would be just as delicious on their own.

Ingredients

300 g prawns
1 ½ tbsp olive oil
¼ tsp chilli flakes
1 clove of garlic, crushed
juice of one lemon

Mix together the oil, chilli, garlic and lemon. Allow the prawns to marinade in this for at least an hour, but ideally longer.

Remove the prawns from the marinade and barbeque over a hot grill for 2-3 minutes per side, or until the flesh turns an opaque pink colour.

If you wish, you could heat through the remaining marinade until he garlic and chilli are just cooked (about 4 minutes) and use this as a dipping sauce to serve alongside your prawns.

You might also like:

Sunny blue swimmer crabs

Sunny blue swimmer crabs

Traditional St Patrick's Day dinner

Traditional St Patrick’s Day dinner

Totally tropical fool

Totally tropical fool

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

10 thoughts on “Barbequed shrimp Aussie style

  1. Yep, I always get …calm down..calm down from Harry Enfields The Scousers. Fortunately not here in NZ as no one seems to know or get it. Hope you had a great Aussie day, we had the day off for Auckland Aniversary.

    • Oh god Allison, I wouldn’t be able to stick that at all! I’m not much of a fan of Harry Enfield fan, but I guess it beats getting quotes from ‘Brookside’ or something like that! We’d a great Aussie day thanks, hope you’d a lovely day off too. I could certainly get used to three-day weekends!

    • Hi Kady, thanks so much for stopping by my blog and of course for putting it on your blogroll! Good luck with the move to Sydney, although as a food lover, you need to beware of the ‘Sydney Stone’, this is a city choc full of yumness! I’ve no doubt you’ll love it!

  2. ya it was great, got a lovely case of wine great value too.. theres the good food & wine show sydney on the 28th of june so you’ll have that! you should do a post on your favourite restaurants in sydney sometime im definately going trying that walnut bread too looks delish!

    • That sounds deadly Kady! in hindsight I probably should have gone. I did got to the Good Food & Wine show last year and it was great, I came home with soooo many goodies! But this year I’ll be at home in June, so instead I’ll be enjoying normal Irish cheese, soda bread, rashers, chocolate – all the good stuff! It’s going to be class!

Leave a Reply

