Chocolate Sunday

Rose, pistachio and cardamom chocolate bark

Isn’t it great that there’s a whole day dedicated to chocolate?!

Okay, okay, I’m not being serious. And I certainly don’t mean to be insensitive to any religious folks out there. I do realise that for a great many people, Easter is about much more than chocolate. However as I’m an atheist to the bone, this weekend is pretty much ALL about the brown sticky goodness. That and having four days off work of course, could there be a better holiday?!

Almond and apricot chocolate bark

So this week I tried my hand at making chocolate bark; because a chocolate-melting project is always fun and you can really get creative with the flavours and appearance. For a few pointers I checked my infallible The Flavour Thesaurus by Niki Segnit. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who like me is a little unable to stick to recipes; basically it helps you to mix and match flavours and gives you pointers and ideas as to what works well together (and why) without actually giving any recipes. I love it. After some flicking I decided to dress up some super-dark chocolate with almond and apricot and also rose, pistachio and cardamom. And what can I say? The Flavour Thesaurus never fails, although when you start with excellent quality, rich, dark chocolate, you would have to have a very serious fail for it not to taste like more, oh so much more.

Rose, pistachio & cardamom chocolate bark

Many thanks need to go to The Fella for helping me out with these photos. I made these on quite a hot day and struggled to take any decent shots in good light before the chocolate began to melt. He’s a bit of a creative whizz with the camera and help me tonnes. He did have quite the incentive though and obviously I rewarded him well! If you’re interested in checking our more of his work check out his website.

Happy chocolate day!

Almond and apricot chocolate bark & Rose, pistachio and cardamom chocolate bark

Almond and apricot chocolate bark & Rose, pistachio and cardamom chocolate bark

Ingredients

400 g dark couverture chocolate, or the best quality you can afford (couverture refers to the type of fat in the chocolate; it simply means that a higher proportion of the fats are from cocoa butter which leads to a smoother, richer chocolaty taste. In this instance I used Lindt Dessert 70% cocoa).
greaseproof paper
100 g almonds, roughly chopped and lightly toasted
100 g apricots, roughly chopped
1 tsp ground cardamom
100 g pistachios, roughly chopped and lightly toasted
2 tbsp dried rose petals (I used a brand called pariya, who also make all kinds of other interesting and exotic yumness)

Bring a pot of water to a gentle boil and pop a bowl over the top. Break the chocolate pieces into this bowl and allow to melt, stirring gently until it is all liquid. Try not to eat too much of it at this stage, you will need to have at least some left for the bark.

Spread half the chocolate across a sheet of greaseproof paper and sprinkle the almonds and apricots over the top.

Add the cardamom to the remaining melted chocolate and stir well. Spread this chocolate across a second sheet of greaseproof paper and sprinkle the pistachios and dried rose petals over the top.

Allow both barks to cool for several hours, before breaking into rough pieces and enjoying.

Yumbolicious.

 

You might also like:

Hot cross buns

Hot cross buns

Pork with a serious, devilishly good (chocolaty!!) twist

Pork with a serious, devilishly good (chocolaty!!) twist

Strawberries in chocolate tuxedos

Bow ties ‘n’ bolly

 

 

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Sunday

  1. These both look absolutely lovely and delicious! I actually just bought some identical-looking rose petals yesterday at a Mexican market (having zero ideas yet for exactly what I want to cook with them), so thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    • That’s funny! To be honest these actually sat in my cupboard for quite a while before I figured out what to do with them. My next project for them is going to be baklava, because that’s all kinds of yum! I can’t wait to read about what you decide to do!

      • Yes, baklava is the best! I posted a recipe for Almond Cinnamon Baklava a while back… I didn’t want to invest in both rose water and orange blossom water, so I bought rose water (have never tried incorporating rose petals though…) and simmered orange peels in the sugar syrup.

      • Oh my god. Just reading that made me want some for breakfast!! I am drooling into my keyboard here! Will totally check out that post. Yeah, I’m not quite sure how exactly I’d incorporate the rose petals, at the moment it’s just a tiny idea, but hopefully it’ll develop into something. I’ll let you know!

  2. Hi I’m Ana from Fooduel.com. It is a site in which users vote recipes
    from 1 to 10.

    There is a ranking of the best recipes and a profile with your voted recipes. Each recipe has a link to the blog which belongs the recipe. This way you will get traffic to your blog

    It’s easy, fast and fun. The best Photo recipes will be here.

    I invite you to enter, add your blog and upload a recipe with a nice photo for user of the world look your recipes.

    You are able to see your stats:

    -Number of visits to your blog from Fooduel.com.
    -Number of votes received every day
    -Number of votes received by each category
    -Number of votes for each grade (1-10)
    -Number of votes for each recipe.

    Look this example of one profile stats: http://fooduel.com/stats1.png

    We would love that you participate with some recipe.Look Amazing!

    Regards

    http://www.Fooduel.com

Leave a Reply

